Alone

Originally posted April 7, 2014

Scour the internet. Talk to people who are eating to be healthier. Search high and low. Study every diet from gluten-free to natural foods. And still to find one that fits your needs is not to be found.

I have shared with you some of my tips on changing eating habits. The problem is that as I grow weaker the less control I have over what I eat.

This year has been a particularly rough year. I am not at the point to receive a liver transplant, yet I have been in the hospital four times in four months this year. Most of it has ended with attempts to remove the fluid from around my right lung. In that process, an opening between the pleural sac and the area under the muscle. The fluid leaked into that area around the muscle creating a painful knot. After several different approaches to the problem, it was decided to insert a TIPS. You can find much information about this on the internet.

Each trip has left me weak and able to do less. I have a wonderful support system that does all they can, but it is not like being able to do things myself.

Once again, I am in the process of rebuilding my strength in preparation for what we pray will be the next step and will happen quickly – a transplant. We pray the TIPS works until that time.

That brings me back to the food. The only actual requirements from the medical community is that I restrict the sodium (not over 2000 mg) and fluid (sometimes that ranges from the 1500 ml or 2000 ml) and that I need to increase my protein intake.

Not that anyone out there has missed my blogging, since I do mostly for myself anyway. I’m not even sure anyone else has ever read one of the posts. But just in case there is one of you out there wondering why there were no new posts, here it is.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

