Preparing

Originally posted February 8, 2014

Over the last months, I ended up in the hospital for a few days. I was unprepared for this both times. My hospital has some of the best staff I have ever been around. They are caring and treat the patient with such kindness. My only complaint is the food. This is not even what I would consider typical hospital food known for not being the best. This food holds little if any nutritional value. It taste salty to me which means there is more salt than most people should have. The meals are filled with mainly overcooked carbs. It is unsatisfying.

What is the solution to this dilemma? My family went to work on this. Our daughter found a rolling case that we can pack in. It is packed with the items needed at the hospital, pajamas, robe, toothbrush, and all the other needed items. Then there are some healthy snack items and other things to make the stay better.

Next we fixed meals that my husband can bring to me. They have a microwave on the floor and while that is not my preferred choice, it will still be better than the alternatives. We have pecan crusted chicken, plain chicken, pulled pork, beans, chili, vegetable soup, beef stew, and plans to fix meat loaf tomorrow. We have frozen vegetables and brown rice that can be fixed easily. Fresh vegetables to eat raw is another choice. And all of it is no salt added, low in carbs, and only good fats used. I know exactly what is in them all.

I have plans to fix some desserts that can also be frozen. If anyone has a suggestion on a dessert that fits my needs, I would love to hear from you.

We know that my hospital stays will come more often as time goes on. We are hoping this will provide us with good quick meals saving us money while eating well. We also pray this will help decrease the stress at the time.

Whenever you face a time that is difficult in your life, I hope you will recall some of these ideas and put them to use in your own life.

Thanks for visiting. I like reading any comments. I especially look forward to any dessert suggestions this time.

Best Wishes,
Pamela

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

