Foods For Normal People?

Originally posted January 11, 2014

This was not what I had planned for my next blog, but it is a repeating theme I have come across recently. I ignored the comments in the beginning. The part that bothers me most about the normal people comments is that it implies anyone struggling with health issues is not a normal person. That can be a huge stumbling block to a person just finding out they have a serious condition requiring changes in everything, especially food. Recently, I began to feel very sad about the thought that ‘the fanatics’ (including me) are trying to force people to eat differently than they want. I was there once. Quick and easy foods that tickle our taste buds with not an ounce of nutrients are tempting to fix or eat. Unfortunately, they took a toll.

I am not wanting to force anyone to eat a certain way. I do want to encourage trying different foods, share what works for me, and help others hopefully avoid some serious health issues. I shared my story and each step I have tried the lock the barn door after the horse escaped method. It is much easier to make some changes before it became a have-to situation.

There are many healthy people that are choosing to eat more natural foods in hopes of maintaining that health throughout life. I am thankful for this as it brings more products to the average person that was not available before. This allows people like me with strict dietary requirements more variety.

Thanks for reading and please be careful and considerate with your words. We are normal people but can’t eat many of the foods posted. Best wishes to you for a happy life.

We all have free will to make choices in life. Whatever you choose to eat is fine with me. Why is it not okay for me?

Next time, I will be back with one more blog about some things I have learned during this process. Then maybe it’s time for a fictional story or two.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

