Soapbox Time

Originally posted November 20, 2013

I am tired. Tired on so many levels it is often difficult to separate one from another. One subject for my state has risen to the top recently, not so much like sweet cream but like the pale liquid in spoiled milk. The thought of it turns my stomach like the smell of milk.

What is it that causes such visions, you ask? Well, since you asked, let me get to the issue. It is a condition that one might call blind in one eye and can’t see out of the other.

Our country (for that matter our world) is facing some of the most difficult times ever with child and adult abuse, the military fighting around the world only to return home as a different person facing the many challenges of returning to society, kidnaping, senseless murders, robberies, and on and on. Seriously, how many days go by without hearing of at least one of these things. I venture to say none.

Maybe it is the frustration of these events happening along with not knowing what to do about them that causes some people to nit-pick about things that are ridiculous.

Have you read the article about the parents being fined for sending a lunch of roast, carrots, potatoes, an orange, and milk with their children. The lunch was deemed “unbalanced” because it didn’t contain a grain. The school supplemented the meal with Ritz crackers. The fine wasn’t large, but come on.
Read the story at http://www.weightymatters.ca/2013/11/parents-fined-for-not-sending-ritz.html

Then there was the Facebook mom who shared a story that dealt with her child being dishonest concerning a healthy eating issue. The surprising comments defending the child’s lack of following the parents rules was defended by numerous people in as many ways, however there was one comment that stated she should not force her lifestyle on her child. This is a young child with parents who are doing their best to teach her right from wrong. Mom was disappointed that she made some unhealthy choices, but her real concern was the secrecy. Besides, they often do things to have a balance in the food category. The people who say not to force your lifestyle are many times the same ones that blame the parents if the child wrongs someone else. I am glad my children are grown, but I see them struggle with these situations in dealing with their own children often in today’s society.

I have one more example to add. There was a story of a man who wore religious ties to work. Some people looked forward to seeing these beautiful ties. You probably guessed it. It was upsetting to one person so he is no longer allowed to wear his ties to work. I am really tired of this country being run by a small group of self-important people. What ever happened to your rights end where mine begin? I see things daily that offend me, but if I told someone that they couldn’t wear the clothes they wear or fix their hair that way or any of the many other things that come to mind, people would fight me for that person’s rights. When are we going to begin doing the same?

Oh, we are really good at pulling together and helping others when there is a disaster. Then slowly we return to our “normal” lives patting ourselves on the backs. Before long we don’t even check back to see if there are still needs. Yes, we have to care for our own. And yes, we have jobs to do. While others are still recovering from losing someone dear to them and others wish they had homes and jobs to go to. (Yes, this includes me, too.)

There was a time when I was young that people stood up for what they believed in. They fought in wars in foreign places but they also felt a responsibility to insist on right at home, too. Many quotes come to be but they are so overused that many people don’t even think about the meaning anymore. They had their priorities clearly in their minds.

Side note: Bars of soap once came in heavy wooden boxes. They were used (today we would say repurposed) in many different ways. One of those was for a stage for people to stand on so they were slightly above the crowd and give political speeches or preach a sermon or just to rant. This last describes this post.

The opinions voiced here are strictly my own. You can agree or not. Just be prepared for things to continue getting more violent and chaotic. That not the world I want for future generations.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

