Scary Things

Originally posted September 13, 2013

I am not a fan of monster movies, spiders, snakes, and oh so many other things. Strangely, I do like stories that could be real and are equally scary.

Then suddenly, I found myself slap dab in the middle the most scariest events of life. First, in a month span, I (along with others) survived facing the deaths of of my 18 year old son and my 94 year old mother. Six months later, I was handed a death sentence as I was told I have cirrhosis of the liver and had two years to live. I did very well for two years before I started spiraling down a dark tunnel. I made an appointment to see a doctor at the NZTI just to see where I was in the disease. He began the process of listing me that day. It has been a whirlwind of testing and fixing problems. We are close to being officially listed. Even then, I will have appointments and more testing at least through the end of the year.

Once again, proof that real life is scarier, better, happier, and more intense in every way than movies can ever truly duplicate.

May you live life to the fullest, no matter how many scary things you face. One lesson I have learned is that there are always people in every life who are willing to help. That has been the good that came out of this; I have found out how many people care. It helps make everything seem less scary.

If I am fortunate enough to receive a healthy liver, I will still have my support people around me.

God bless!
Pamela K. Young

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

