Layered Cake

Originally posted May 25, 2013

I don’t know how many layer cakes I have eaten a piece of through the years. Do you? Some were super wonderful and others left a bad taste in the mouth.

One of my favorites for many years was one my mother-in-law would make when we would visit. I asked for her recipes several times just to be told, “It’s just an apple layer cake.” I know that’s what it was to her and that everyone knows how to make that. Except, I grew up in a different part of the country and, while we had lots of delicious foods, I had never had a cake like this.

Failing to get the recipe, I made many attempts to make one. I found recipes that sounded so close, but they all failed the taste test. I finally gave up. She quit making them.

What made that cake so special, you ask? Well, if I knew that I would make one. It had around six thin layers about a third as tall as a normal layer. Between each layer were cooked, seasoned apples with apples on top and a thin layer of some icing. It was moist, flavorful, not too sweet, and delicious.

So, why am writing about this today? Well, you see, the recipe along with any others secrets she holds are lost forever. She had a severe stroke last Saturday and is now in a Hospice Care Center.

Every time I faces layers of life that seem endless, I think of that cake and ones I wanted to taste like it. Some were sweet, some bitter, some just down right unpleasant, and other were ok.

This last week as it occurs often in my life these days, I have layer upon layer. You see besides the waiting to hear the next word from family (we are about 1000 miles away), our daughter’s office is one of the Physician office at the hospital in Moore, OK that was completed destroyed by the tornado as it went through, and I am having continued complications with my health. On the sweet side, we have had some time with some of our grandchildren, this daughter’s family are going on a much needed trip, and my health is slowly improving. Our other two children are making arrangements and preparing for the trip that no one likes to make.

The sweetest of all is that today is our forty-third anniversary. Considering the fact that two years ago I wasn’t expecting to see this anniversary, each day is a sweet blessed gift while years celebrated are like Christmas.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

