Strange Things Happen

Originally posted April 9, 2013

“Hello”
“Yes, this is Josi.”
“Are you sure?”
“I will be right there.”

My ears perk up as I listen to Josi’s side of the phone conversation. What is going on? It certainly isn’t good news.

Josi enters the room with an air of reluctance. “Mrs. Faulkner, the phone call was bad news.”

Yeah, I figured that out. Josi is always stating the obvious like I have no sense at all. How does she think I made it to 82 with out a brain? I don’t even look her way, but continue looking at the TV.

She clears her throat and moves closer. “Mrs. Faulkner?” She kneels down by my chair. “Do you understand? I have to tell you something.”

This time, I turn my head slightly and look at her out of the corner of my eye. I want to hear what has happened.

“Robert is in the hospital. They think he has had a heart attack. Do you want to go?”

Of course I want to go you ditz is what I want to say, but I just nod my head. It takes me longer to get ready to go anywhere these days. Sometimes I think it is me and sometimes I think it is because of all the “help” I have. I finally convince her of what I am going to wear.

Out the door and in the car, we move so slowly down the street. Robert is my oldest son. He has always been the one I lean on when I needed someone. What would my life be without him? He may be 61 years old but he is still my baby. To think of him in pain, pain’s me.

When we enter his room, Julie, his wife, hugs me. “Momma Faulkner, Robert has a blockage. They will have to put in a stint. The doctor is one of the best anywhere and says he should be fine.”

I always did like Julie. She still treats me like a person. She is reassuring and confident. I take a deep breathe and go to Robert’s side. Holding his hand, I say a little prayer. Julie pulls a chair up so I can sit beside him.

Josi took me home at night, but I didn’t sleep much. I am out of bed and dressed when Josi comes in to wake me up. It is a quite ride to the hospital. I am there early enough to see Robert before he goes in to surgery.

Julie holds my hand as we wait. I know she is worried, but she tries not to show it. We have been waiting about two hours when the doctor comes in. He tells us that everything is fine. Robert is doing wonderfully and can go home the next day.

Julie and Robert stop by to see me on their way home. Josi tells them they are too late. When she went in to wake me up, I was not breathing. My body was still laying in the bed. They came and sat with “me” until the funeral home workers came. Then they found the note, “I’m sorry, Robert.”

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

