WARNING – Bit of a Rant

Originally posted March 18, 2013

When I was young, the world was filled with good hopes and dreams of the future. The year 2000 seemed so far away. The space program was something we all watched with amazement and pride. By now, we were all suppose to have flying cars and living amid the clouds if not on other planets. Movies and TV shows abounded with the possibilities of the future. These were presented as positive, uplifting, and hopeful. Even our aliens were friendly and fun for the most part.

There are some things that have surpassed what we could even imagine and dream of becoming reality. Computers no longer take a whole environmentally-controlled room, but sit on a desk top or in our hands. Phones without wires and party lines where everyone in the area knew who got called and what was said was beyond belief. 
 
Medical advances are phenomenal. People no longer need to die from many of the childhood diseases. There are vaccines to help the elderly avoid life threatening diseases of pneumonia or flu. There are still many diseases to battle. Many of the ones today can be avoided or helped with lifestyle changes.
 
Today, most people I talk to do not feel hopeful about the future of our world. Why should we? It is difficult to find a movie that depicts anything but disasters for us. When is the last time you watched a movie where someone didn’t die? I am well aware that death is part of life, but really, do we need to be reminded of that in every movie. It may be of natural causes or by violence. It may be the apocalypse or aliens. There are very few feel good movies from beginning to ending. 
 
You can add many of the books to that list. I went to a bookstore today looking for a book to read. After spending some time reading the covers, I walked out without one. I just don’t want to read another anything about violence or death right now.
 
The question is often asked about why there is so much violence today. I read a blog on Recovering Quitter that is well written about teaching children how to treat others.  She was prompted to write it because she had read that we need to teach men how to treat women. I think it’s wonderful to have the parents out there that are training their children in the way to treat people. As adults, we have the responsibility to feed our own minds, as well as the children’s minds, with things that will help us not become desensitized to the suffering of others. 
 
Don’t get me wrong. I like a good ‘Who done it?’ on occasion. But a steady diet of it is like eating only chips. I crave variety, especially during a time when real-life violence, death, depression, and hopelessness abounds around us.
 
Well, if you stayed with me to this point, you are a trooper. So I ask a favor of you. If you know of any recent books or movies that you think I would like, I would welcome the suggestions.
 
“For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.” Proverbs 23:7 NKJV
 
Whether you think that you can, or that you can’t, you are usually right. – Henry Ford
 
The mind is everything. What you think you become. – Buddha
 
We are what our thoughts have made us; so take care about what you think. Words are secondary. Thoughts live; they travel far. – Swami Vivekananda
 
Be careful what you feed your minds.- me
Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

1 thought on “WARNING – Bit of a Rant”

Leave a Reply

