Pity Party

Originally posted March 7, 2013

I have been having myself a party – a pity party. I have been sick for a few weeks. I had others plans for this time. But alas, none of them got much attention.

A very wise young woman has a plan for this that usually works. Everyone deserves to have a pity party once in a while, so plan it. Give yourself permission. Set a time limit, usually 1-2 hours for me. Close yourself off from the world. Have your party in whatever way will help you. Cry, write, beat the pillows, meditate, relax, or vegetate. When your time is up, wash your face and leave the party.

I had my party yesterday. When the party was over, I was not only feeling better emotionally but physically. As it turns out, a couple of the things on my list were finished and today I am ready to see what else I can accomplish.

What did I do at my party? This time, I used meditation and relaxation. I have had the wild crying and beating the pillow parties in the past. As all things, my parties have changed as I grow older. That is not to say that occasionally there won’t be another party where I cry or scream or hit things. But for today, I am happy with the party I had yesterday.

The main point is to have the party and then leave it behind. Setting the time limit makes it easier to do that. Try it next time you feel the need for a pity party.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

