Children

A child is a gift. Not just a gift, but a gift that lifts your heart when you are down and coaxes a smile to your face when you are sad. A child eases your burdens with a hug.

We had these same qualities when we were children. We did not know the power we had or that we made a difference in a life. As we grow older, it becomes unacceptable to let another cheer us or to comfort another with a smile and a hug.

Occasionally, we break down the barriers letting the childlike caring for someone else to come shining through. When a friend needs us most, we provide comforting without hesitation.

Sometimes we are the ones that are hurting. It is more difficult to let another person give us that child-like gift of caring. When we refuse their aid, we deny ourselves the joy of knowing someone deeply cares. And we deny them the joy of giving.

This season brings out the child in each of us. Today decide to look at the world through your inner child’s eyes. Watch for ways to lift another with a simple gesture of kindness. Soak up the joys in life viewing the changing leaves and fall harvest bounty while preparing for the biggest child event of the year – Christmas. After all, there are only about two months until Christmas.

Posted: 02 Nov 2007

 

2016

 

I find the older I get the less I care about what society deems proper. It might have something to do with being serious ill for so long, but I don’t hesitate to offer a smile, a hug, or a kind word. Matthew 18:3

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

