Snow

Originally posted February 26, 2013

We were all set to be snowed in and we had a full day of snow. This was taken in the evening. The scenery was beautiful. It brought some much needed moisture to parched land and inhabitants.

We did not receive the overwhelming amounts that some did. The official amount is around 5 inches. We can get out if there is a need. Today, the sun is shining and the snow is melting.

A reminder from someone dear to me brought forth visions of the pioneers that settled this country. Some lived in dugouts, some did not. There was no weather forecaster on tv or computer to let them know something was coming or how bad it might be.

Since the day before was sunny and bright with temperatures in the mid-sixties, who would have been prepared for such a storm. Some places have deeper snow and even deeper drifts to dig out of.

Some are without electricity. Ours flickered a few times, but it remained on all night. We were warm and dry with a soft bed to sleep on.

That brings us to the next concern. This same person reminded me that there are many who have no soft bed, nor warm, dry place to get in from the cold. Many through no fault of their own. Many would prefer to be elsewhere but just have no idea how to get there.

I have no answers or solutions to this problem. I do have a thankful heart for my many blessings. I am thankful for the snow for it provides us the moisture needed. Maybe it has also provided us with an opportunity to search our hearts and see how calloused we have become, giving us a chance to change our views.

We traveled this country for many years. We saw homeless people everywhere. One thing we did was to carry breakfast bars and granola bags sort of things with us. Many times, we would hand these out. Some were thankful, some were not. But is was what we could do.

I know some who have been out to eat and was taking food home when they would see someone in need offering them the food. So much is served in restaurants these day, why not have half of a meal packed to go and only eat half. Some have seen a person on their way to eat and offered to take them and buy them a meal.

These are small things, but they make a big difference in some of these lives. Think about it.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

