Games

It was a damp overcast Saturday afternoon. The stadium was sparsely occupied by parents, grandparents, and various other family members as well as friends of the players. Tension and anticipation filled the air as the players took the field. The sportsmen being nine or ten years old heightened the excitement surrounding the scene. Prayers rose from the crowd at each snap of the ball; prayers for safety, prayers for small successes, prayers for lessons learned. Some rejoiced after the game while others struggled with learning to lose gracefully.

These important lessons learned foreshadowed the path of how they would handle winning and losing as adults. Since every situation of competition is one where one wins and another loses, it is a necessity to learn to handle both with dignity, grace, and joy. Joy? Yes, joy. Because each opportunity we take to attempt something different creates an occasion for growth. It is a joyful thing to grow. What was the last attempt you made at trying something new?

Originally Posted: 07 Oct 2007

 

2016

I try something new all the time. It still frustrates me when it doesn’t go as I want it to.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

