Life’s Heartbreaks

A child may be broken-hearted over a broken toy. A teenage girl’s heart breaks when her dream boy asks someone else to the prom. Young adults may feel it when they are struggling through college or unfulfilled new expectations of love. The perfect job slips through the hands of a new graduate.

Do you notice the common thread? Expectations and loss. A popular theme is the expectation theory, which I agree with in many ways. Expect what you want in life and it will come. However, sometimes our hearts are broken because our expectations fail completion.

Then there is the heartbreak of loss alone. Most often this comes through death. We all know that all will die. Sometimes there is the expectation that the person would have lived longer, but many times it is simple loss of that person in our lives that breaks our hearts.

Currently, I am struggling with the heartbreak of watching my mother’s health deteriorate. She is elderly and has dementia, but until recently, was physically healthy. Over the last three months she has suffered many trials. It breaks my heart daily to watch her and know this is a journey she has to travel alone.

Some things mean so much to us usually because of a connection with that item to another person. The people in our lives should be cherished daily. Make memories while you can – you may need those good memories to carry you through rough times ahead. Tell someone how much they mean to you TODAY. It is all we truly have. And know that you are important to someone, probably many someones.

So that’s it until next time…

Originally Posted: 30 Jun 2009

2016

It was indeed heartbreaking the next fourteen months as we watched Mom suffer through many trials. Tomorrow is the sixth anniversary of her death.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

