The Heat of Summer

Originally posted August 22, 2012

The summer sun beats down. Steam rises from the scorched ground producing a sauna-like state. They say the crime and suicide rates increase in the hot weather. Jolene doesn’t know about crime or suicide, but she does know that everyone around her has been in really bad moods. Come to think of it – so has she.

Debra, her best friend, just told her last night that she is thinking of divorcing Tom. It is so hard to imagine one of them without the other. The thought crosses Jo’s mind that maybe divorce rates go up in the oppressive heat, too. This is the third one among their friends this summer.

She has been irritated at George recently, but divorce had not crept into her mind. Has he thought about it in this transition time? She thinks about this as she evaluates everything he has said recently looking for a clue.

Jo is lost in her thoughts when she is startled by a loud clap of thunder. Looking out the kitchen window, she sees sheets of rain falling from a darkened except for lightening-flash sky. Seems even the clouds are angry with the heat as they drench the earth with the moisture. Jo takes in a deep refreshing breathe. The smell of rainwater penetrates her body and mind. This is just what is needed to bring relief and order back to the world.

“Hello,” she says into the phone. It is Debra. They are soon laughing and joking in the easy way they always have.

“I must go,” says Deb, “but before I do I want you to know that we are not getting a divorce. Tom took the day off and we talked everything out. It was all a misunderstanding.”

“I’m glad you worked it out. Goodbye.” Jolene’s smile says it all. The heat of summer has broken. Fall will be here soon.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

