Character

He just couldn’t believe his ears. Not trying to eavesdrop Chase overheard Bill telling George that Chase had taken money from the petty cash box. Chase was shocked to hear the searing words. How could anyone that had worked with him for ten years think that he would do such a thing? It would not have hurt more if Bill had punched him in the stomach. Bewildered Chase walked away still trying to make sense of the foreign words. He dropped into a chair and sipped on the coffee he had been pouring when the words drifted on the airwaves toward him.

George walked into the room slowly with a puzzled look on his face. He stalled when seeing Chase. Their eyes met and George knew Chase had heard the rumors from somewhere. As George stood there deciding what he should say, Chase just shook his head.

George said, “Who told you?”

“I heard Bill telling you,” answered Chase. “You know me George. Do you believe him?”

“No.” George said, “Listen Chase, anyone who knows you would never believe it. Don’t let the others get to you.”

“But George, it hurts to think anyone would think it much less say it.”

“Yes, I know, Chase. You are one of the most honest people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. People just have to speculate.”

“Still…”

“There is an old adage that says ‘Live your life so that when people say evil things about you, the people who know you would never believe it’. When I think of the people I know that would fit, you are at the top of the list. Mary said the same thing. She really let Bill have it, too. She came in as he was still trying to convince me. She told him that most people here would come nearer to believing that he was the one that took it, but would never believe you did it.”

This made Chase smile. He and Mary had not always seen eye to eye on how to do things, but they had developed a mutual respect for each other’s honest.

-Break—

Do you know someone who this saying fits? I have had the great honor of knowing a few. Are you such a person? I strive to be daily. Good luck to you in your attempts to emulate this character trait. If you know someone you believe to model this behavior, let the person know what it means to you to know someone with this quality. It will be an encouragement to them knowing someone noticed.

Until next time…

Originally Posted: 11 Oct 2007

 

2016

I was accused of stealing a lying once. It hurts.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

