Looks Like a Duck

There is a familiar saying that goes, “If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it must be a duck.” But is it true. Most of these often-used sayings can be both true and false. This one is used in talking about a variety of issues. Today I want to share a story where this saying proved false.

Last week I lost focus and became very stressed over some things I have little or no control over. I was struck suddenly with a sharp pain in my chest. It went away leaving a dull ache. Going on to work and getting the day started kept me occupied for a while until another sharp pain hit. Shortly there was a third. I called my husband who was on his way when another hit. We were talking on the phone and I decided to call 911. I was quickly surrounded by paramedics running tests. My husband and my boss arrived. After an ambulance ride to the hospital, chest x-rays, and a heart cath, we received the good news that my heart muscle is strong with no blockages.

The point is that sometimes even if it is not a duck treat it like a duck until there is evidence to the contrary. I would do the same thing all over again because I believed it to be a heart attack. There was plenty of time to think about life during this day. It is a precious fleeting time to be enjoyed. Don’t to chances. Get proof as to whether it is a duck or not.

Maybe this one actually falls under the category of, “Shoot first; ask questions later.”

Originally Posted: 26 Sep 2007

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

