Reunions

Family members are bound together with cords that exist in no other relationship. No matter what comes or goes those with whom we share the same bloodline teach us a great deal about ourselves. There is great joy in feeling that connection, as there is great pain when hurt by these same people.

I have been to several family reunions having long histories with third and fourth generations now hosting them. Many memories are shared of years past. Many people are missed since their deaths. Many little ones have joined the clan.

Families. We celebrate. We disagree. We forgive. We love. Sometimes we allow things to build to such a point that these bonds are forever broken – unmendable. Communication is a key element in avoiding this breaking of the hearts of both people.

Enjoy your family today. Call someone you haven’t spoken to in a while. After all, you do share the same gene pool.

Originally Posted: 15 Sep, 2007

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

