Between You & Me

Originally posted June 24, 2012

Glenn looks at the page June, his girlfriend, has on the new internet site, JBU which stands for Just Between Us. She has nudged 836 people to share her, correction, their lives.

“Who are all these people? Why are they interested in where we ate last night? And why would she want to tell them about every intimate detail of our relationship?” The thoughts race through his head. “Why would she think I want this out there? Doesn’t she know that it isn’t just her group, which is bad enough, that could read these things?”

Glenn scans down the list telling about their good times and their fights. Oh, everyone feels so sorry for her during those times and the few that remark on the good are very happy for her. This is not okay with him. She is going to have some real juicy remarks to send out over the bytes when this day is over.

June, the Drama Queen, enters the door about fifteen minutes from the time he usually arrives from work. One glance at Glenn’s face then the computer screen tells her how unhappy he is over what he read. With the biggest smile she can manage, she greets him cheerfully, “You got off early today.”

He doesn’t answer until she finishes carrying on a chipper conversation about the day by herself. With a  quiet calm voice he says, “Sit down. We need to talk.”

She knows that voice after the few years they had been together. She begins forming her defense in her mind as she sits beside him. Before she can get a word out, Glenn says, “It’s over. I can not, will not have a relationship with this many people involved in it.”

“I will delete the site.” June begins. “We can work this out. Just think of all the good times we have.”

“I read all about them this afternoon. What made you think this was alright?”

Tears begin rolling down her face, then the sobs start. “I was just so happy that I wanted to share that with everyone. Please give me another chance.”

“I can’t trust you any more,” he said sadly. “Do you want to leave or do you want me to?

“You know I can’t afford this place without you.”

“Okay. I will give you a week to find a new place. Until then, I will stay with Jim. And June, these people don’t care about you. They hang around for the drama so they can forget their own pains for a while. Because I care about you, let me suggest you delete this and live in the real world instead of cyberspace. I can’t imagine any man wanting you sharing your relationship with the world in this way.”

With a brief hug and a light kiss on her forehead, he picks up a bag he had already packed and walked out the door leaving her alone with her 836 other relationships most of whom she had never met face to face.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

