Singing Pigs

Singing Pigs?!? Did you ever hear of such a thing? No and you probably won’t either.

I spent many hours several years back with a friend that often would say, “Never try to teach a pig to sing. It annoys the pig and waste your time.”

Now why would she say such a thing? Because she had learned through the years that try as you may, you can’t teach someone something if they don’t want to learn. Trying to do so only annoys them and wastes your time.

Have you ever known someone that fits this category? Sure you have. Everyone has. It is most frustrating to deal with this type of person. It is a pretty smug feeling to be right and know that this pig could sing just by following a few simple directions. You are just trying to help them out after all. There is no reason for them to be so annoyed.

The bigger question is: Have you ever been the pig? Whoops, did you just cringe? That isn’t so funny. Each of us has been the one that was stubborn, argumentative, and annoyed by someone trying to teach us to sing.

Now everyone has limitations on their abilities but that is not this discussion. Is it actually possible for a pig to sing? I don’t know, but I do know they are not the most cooperative animals around.

Maybe if today is the day you choose to be a pig, you could just open your mind a little and try to sing. You just might discover talents you never knew you had. You may discover you don’t really have a talent for singing but you find enjoyment in the trying. Maybe repeating this saying as teacher or pig would help each person have a better attitude toward the situation.

Here’s hoping you stretch yourself this week and SING.

Originally Posted: 13 Aug 2007

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

