What do you think?

by Pamela Young, August 8, 2011

Proverbs 23:6-7

6 Do not eat the bread of a man who is stingy [footnote: whose eye is evil]; do not desire his delicacies, 7 for he is like one who in inwardly calculating [footnote: as he calculates in his soul, so is he], “Eat and drink!” he says to you, but his heart is not with you. ESV

Reminds me of 1 Corinthians 15:33 Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

I don’t know about you, but from time to time, I need some quiet time to reevaluate my thoughts, motives, and goals. Without that time, the world squeezes me until I don’t even recognize myself.

The verses above being true; the opposite is true also. People who think or calculate good things in their hearts are blessings indeed. Shared burdens are lighter. Jesus tells us to come to Him when we are burdened and heavy laden. Matthew 11:28

I could not make it through one day, hour, minute without Him. But we are also here to help bear one another’s burdens. Galatians 6:2

Surrounding myself with family and friends that assist in aligning my moral compass helps me remain focused toward all the wonderful things in this world. So, I want to know what you think. This site is a multipurpose site for me. It has given me a place where I can share my burden and your messages lift me on the rough days. It is also a spot for all of you to share, not only with me, but each other what you think concerning this disease. We need each other for support and strength.

Thank you for sharing my burden. Let me also assist in sharing yours. Any time you need a place to share, send me a message. If you don’t want to leave it here, email me. You are important to me.

In all things, be thankful.

Pamela

 

 

I count it all joy that you are enduring these sufferings for Christ. Without the terrible weight of disease, the contrasting lightness of our yoke with God might not be so clearly seen by you. Then, you might not share that contrast with us.

 

I pray for your total healing recovery, because my God is an awesome God and anything I ask in his name will be given. I ask that you will be healed to bring glory to God through your story and through your continued presence as a light in this world. And still I know that God may be more glorified by continued faith in your absence, for we’ve learned this in the last year and other times.

 

Recently I found new peace in parting with my people. Long have I been terrified of any slight separation from those I love. I have made worry my work.

 

The truth gleamed more brightly than ever when, last week, I figured out that absence here in this world is practice for when we die. What peace is born of knowing that the separation is only momentary! How impossibly awesome is our reunion! If I cannot let my kids go visit a friend or a relative or go to school, if I cannot let my husband go to work and my extended family go to their respective places, how could I ever survive one going to God? If they are never apart from me, how could they survive my going to God? This is a truth I have shared with my children, young though they may be, because they deserve to know that they and I will be okay. No matter what happens, we will okay.

 

Thank you for taking the boys at this fertile time for reflection and discovery.

 

Love you always, Amanda

— Amanda Salisbury, August 8, 2011

 

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

