Samantha, the Tomboy

Originally posted May 23, 2012

Samantha is my name but I like Sam better. It fits me. I am a total tomboy. No one makes the mistake more than once to challenge that fact. I will play jacks or jumprope however I much prefer playing ball, or marbles, or building roads for my car collection to travel. I have to wear dresses for certain occasions, like church services and weddings; otherwise I’m in jeans and a cotton shirt. I also prefer having boys as friends over girls who want to play silly games and stay indoors.

That is until this summer. Lately I feel uncomfortable in my own skin. It doesn’t fit right any more. Boys are more difficult to be around. They make me feel a little nauseated. The boys still seemingly treated me the same.

Oh, well, maybe I’m coming down with a summer bug. Next year, when we start our sixth grade year, everything will be back to normal, I’m just sure of it.

***

The summer passed so quickly. Here I am walking the halls in a new school. All has returned to normal until I see Rowdy. That sick feeling is back stronger than ever. When he hands me a piece of paper, our hands brush against each other. I feel so bad that I think I am going to pass out. I mumble something unintelligible trying to leave when our eyes met making me even more uncomfortable. Diverting my eyes, I turn almost running down the hall in the other direction.

What is happening? What am I going to do? This is crazy!

I finally calm myself enough in time to make it into the classroom just as the bell rings. Falling into the one empty chair in the center of the room, I remember the paper Rowdy had handed me. In my distress, I have wadded into a tight ball. I careful and as quietly as possible untangle it. I can finally read it and everyone looks as I gasp. The note said:

Samantha,

Would you please go with me to the welcome back party tonight?

Rowdy

I’m not even upset at being called Samantha. All I feel is excited. I look around and catch Rowdy looking, so I just nod yes and smile. I guess this is just the way it is suppose to happen.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

