People Watching

I watch people. I wonder what is happening in their lives. Sometimes there is a sadness that I feel as I watch. It is a cloud hanging in the air around the person. Putting one foot in front of the other takes every ounce of effort from the body. I wish I could do something for them. My mind wonders through several scenarios of what might by causing them such agony. I am most likely wrong on all accounts, but still I wonder. I whisper a few soft words of encouragement to endure thinking they might just reach the person’s heart.

Then there are the people that are in such a happy place their feet barely touch the ground. Again my mind drifts as to the circumstances surrounding so much joy. My spirit lifts as I watch them float by in front of me. This time I whisper words of encouragement to imprint this moment so they can remember it when it is needed.

Watching others awakens me to the reality of how we each influence even the people we don’t know are watching. We can bring someone down or lift one up by our attitude. We should not fake our feelings, but instead be true to ourselves. Sometimes we do have bad days, weeks, or months. Sometimes we just get into a habit of being negative about everything. That’s when we need to work on our behavior.

Have you ever known someone who always looks for the positive in every situation? That person’s life has not always been easy. What makes the difference? Decision. The person decided to look for the best in everyone and everything. I have had the pleasure of knowing a few of these people. I want to be around them. Everyone that knows them wants to be around them.

It seems much easier to slip into looking for the things that are wrong. Wouldn’t the world be a better place if we all decided to look for good around us? Does that mean we ignore things that are wrong or evil? Do we have a Polly Anna attitude like the ostrich sticking its head in the sand? Of course not. We don’t put on blinders. But most of the things we let get us down aren’t that big. When we live a life of looking for good, it is easier to see the things that really do need our concern.

If you don’t believe me, go to a mall and find a place to sit where people pass. Then watch the people as they come and go. How do you feel when you see a smiling face? What about when the face is sighing, frowning, or just sad? What kind of person are you? What kind are you trying to become? The decision is yours.

Originally Posted: 04 Aug, 2007

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

