Making Memories

 

by Pamela Young, August 3, 2011

Making a shared memory with someone is a priceless treasure. I have had the great joy of sharing memory making with 5 of our grandchildren this summer. They are memories I will hold onto and think about as long as possible. I hope there are some that will stay with them and last a lifetime even if they can’t tell you something that happened but just have that feeling of being loved and having fun.

With the girls, I went to the museum, library, and shopping. With the boys, we went to the museum and shopping. We tried to go to the water park but it was closed. Both sets had just as much fun playing in the water in our yard and our grass got watered. There were water balloons involved as well as inflatable swords to fight the dragons or throw at Grandpa. There was dress-up play. They were introduced to the Waltons and Little House on the Prairie.

Oh, yes, beautiful heart-warming memories. Bringing back memories of other little ones that I still hold dear.

Any of you that have been around me much knows this is an oft repeated theme of mine. But I won’t resist asking, “Are you making shared memories with someone every day?” Sometimes, those are the jewels that aid us through the roughest times.

Go make a memory today.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

