Gee Haw

 

rock bldg bw 1 copy

What is it about old buildings that attract us so? Especially, old houses. In my case, it is remember my parent’s talk about them and the families that had lived in them whether they knew them or not. These houses are tiny in comparison to many today often containing only one room or maybe two. Many people had large families that they raised in these houses. If you listen carefully, you can hear the laughter of children, the barks of dogs, the milk cow’s bell ringing, Mom humming as she washes the clothes, and Dad calling “Gee” and “Haw” or “Whoa” to the horse as it pulls the plow.

In comparison to the noise of today, the sounds are comforting. To often today, we are engulfed in loud noises with little or no meanings. Don’t get me wrong. I certainly don’t want to go back to “the good old days” for it was hard and isolating and filled with heartbreak. However, I do believe it does us good to work in the dirt feeling it with our hands or sit in a peaceful place outdoors where all we hear is the call of songbirds, the distance sounds of animals and humans, and the beat of our own hearts.

Thanks for stopping by and come back often. I so enjoy having company.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

