Grandparents Bell

Last weekend was reunion time for my dad’s family. This is his parent’s headstone. I never knew them personally as they had died before I was born. I do know them through the stories passed down by their children along with the personalities of those people. It is the American story of a young couple marrying and raising a family during some rough times.

There are a few things that are in ever family such as John and Martha met in an orphanage. It is unclear what happened to their parents but they told their children the history of the families. John was too old to actually be in the orphanage but was allowed to live there and work to be close to his brothers and sisters.

John’s father and grandfather were carpenters. He also learned this trade, which he passed on to his sons. Martha attended at least some college majoring in English. John also worked on the railroad traveling around the country.

This couple had 9 children; 2 died within the first year. They raised 3 sons and 4 daughters. From this group the family grew to several hundred in the next 7 generations. In my branch there is around 200.

Family is important. We hold a connection that all goes back to our ancestors binding us together with DNA from them blended with the other parts of whom we are. It is amazing to study family history and discover much about self as well as those that have gone before us.

Live who you are.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

