It is

“It is what it is.”

These little words floating softly through my head helps my sanity. Happenings occur sending me off in directions of “what ifs” and “maybes” that can lead me in futile scenarios about life. Once I calm down and listen to the reasonable voice in my head, it often whisper, “Don’t make more of this than there is. It is what it is. Take it for the truth it is and let go of the unhealthy imaginative ramblings of what it might be.”

There are some situations I can and should do something about. There are others that I can’t or shouldn’t do anything about. There are some I must stand up and face head on. These are easier than the ones that just are. There is nothing to do about them – except to accept them as they are.

I want to fix them. I want to be needed. I am lost when a thing exist that doesn’t need me to fix it.

But there is relief when I finally surrender to the fact that IT IS WHAT IT IS. So as I face each day I am determined to use my energy in making a difference where I can while not wasting my energy on those things that only need acceptance.

Posted: 27 Jul, 2007

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

