Lemon Bars

Original post 2010.

A few years ago, I was at a party where they served lemon bar cookies. This is one of my favorites, but these were especially yummy. I complimented the caterer and commented that I had never had one that tasted exactly like it before. Eventually, she told me she added lavender to them.

Well, thus began my obsession for anything that had lemon and lavender in it. I haven’t met a food with the combination that I didn’t like.

Now I am back in the small town where I grew up and the options for finding savory foods are limited. There are some great long time places and I enjoy a good old hamburger or a bowl of beans. One of the things I miss most about traveling is having food from different areas of the country.

So, last week, I began a search for recipes. There are many out there and some are very interesting to read, however I don’t want to spend the time making them when I am certain we will not eat it. I had the further challenge in that I have removed all processed flour and most of the sugar from my house. I do not mind using whole-wheat flour. There is a learning curve on each new dish I choose to make.

I put a couple of recipes together and mixed the lemon lavender bars. I went to get the pan to put them in and could not find it anywhere. Frustrated and hot, I finally grabbed a pan half the size I needed. About half an hour later, I had my first attempt at lemon lavender bars. They were cut in very small squares. After all, they were extra thick.

When they had cooled and I took my first bite, all the difficulty was forgotten. The taste was smooth and the hint of lavender with the lemon is not only delicious; it has a calming effect. I have been limiting myself, because, truthfully, I could have sat down and eaten the entire pan-full.

They are more lemon yellow in color than they look here.

lemon lavender bars copy

Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

Live enjoying.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

