My Liver Side of Life

I follow several groups on Facebook about transplants, liver transplants in particular. It fascinates me at how much the stories can agree in some areas and be so different in others. The people on these private sites are both pre and post transplant as well as caregivers. I don’t post comments very often because I don’t usually have anything new to offer. I only add a comment when I have something new to add to the conversation. I am awed by the people on there.

Pages from the American Liver Foundation, Orange is the New Liver, Donate Life, Sharecare, and UNOS provide useful information from caring for a healthy liver to news in transplantations. I follow these and more.

One day recently, the American Liver Foundation (ALF) seeking people interested in being a part of their National Patient Advisory Committer (NPAC) to fill out an application. They want people to share their story in a variety of venues.

I filled out the application thinking that would be the end of it. That’s okay. I like sharing my story every opening I get without being pushy about it. It wasn’t the end. I received an email wanting to talk to me by phone. That interview happened yesterday.

Now, I wait. ALF will be deciding the candidates they will invite to training in seven to ten days. The opportunity is fantastic. I know there are many people who would do a great job.

The people they chose will go to training in Chicago. This would be very exciting and a little scary. I haven’t been on a long trip since my transplant. I called my team coordinator for approval and was told they see no problem with me going. She added a few reminders on safe travel.

Whether they select me or not, I will continue spreading the word about transplants in my part of world.

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

3 thoughts on “My Liver Side of Life”

Leave a Reply

