Ministering Women

Originally posted July 22, 2011.

When young, I would rather skip through the instructions and building of the tabernacle than to wade knee-deep through the verses. Today, I learn many lessons from diving deeply into them. I have read different versions but never before had Exodus 38:3 jumped off the page as it did tonight.

“He made the basin of bronze, from the mirrors of the ministering women who ministered in the entrance of the tent of meeting.”

Some version use serving and others use assembling, but this sent my mind through a series of flash [memories} containing moments in time when women have ministered to me throughout the years. They are too numerous to name at this time, however their kindnesses were not wasted in their ministry.

This sent me on a search of what these women did at the door. It is agreed among people more knowledgeable than I that they were devout women assembled for the purpose of devotion possibly watching through the night and/or acting as porters or doorkeeper. The other thought is that the women came in great numbers bringing their offerings of what they had to give, to serve.

Upon reading these explanations, I again return to the women during my life who gave their most to be of service. Thankfully, I am still blessed with women who hold this same spirit, selflessly offering and doing things with only the thought of ministering. Thank you all.

It has also been a struggle of mine to allow others to help as we are taught more on how to serve than how to be served. I have come to realize that if we don’t allow others to help us, we are cheating them of their joy. We each do need to have a servant’s heart and help where we can, however we must also learn how to be gracious in accepting assistance when there are others waiting at the door to minister.

I am certain this will be an ongoing struggle for me at those times when I need more help, but I promise you that I hold those memories of you in my heart for every kindness you have shown.

Just one other thought on this – the negative. Doing things for someone because we feel obligated or because we know we should do something or because we want the praise of humans robs both people. It is better doing nothing.

Love to all and God bless.

Pamela Young

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

