Our Chivaree (Charivari)

We were so young when we ran from the church building to their well-decorated white 1963 Chevrolet Biscayne through a rain of rice on May 24 1970. Rice hurts especially when thrown in clumps. We couldn’t get in because the doors were locked. My brother had used the key to put my bags in the trunk. He tossed the keys to Lloyd.

I slid in from the driver’s side to the middle followed closely behind by Lloyd. We drove off as guests jumped in cars to follow. The car line drove a few trip up and down the “drag” before we decided to make a break.

LL 2 cropped

The following cars weren’t having it. We were laughing the whole time.We were running faster than we should have down the center a paved country road to keep the pursuers from passing. My brother drove into the ditch to get in front where he began hitting the brakes to slow us down.

We took a quick right onto a dirt road. Dry dust was flying. Another brother, Stacy, got around us. We had to stop because it became dangerous to continue.We sat in the car with the doors locked. They tried all kinds of trickery to get me out.

“Come tell us goodbye and we’ll let you go.”

“I didn’t put your suitcase in the car. It’s in my trunk. come get it then we will let you go.”

I looked at Lloyd and said, “We might as well get this over with. They aren’t going to let us go until we do.” I kissed him and got out of the car where I was grabbed and put in another car. I played along acting like I was fighting the process. My family still refuses to believe that I played along. It’s more fun for everyone if it’s noy too easy.

LL 4 editedThere was some discussion on where to take me. The decision was to take me to the town square. Once there, they decided to put me on the corner fountain. Honking horns and yells from family drew some attention from passersby. Several minutes passed and I begin to wonder how long I was going to sit up there before Lloyd drove up.

Meanwhile Lloyd had been working on the car because it wouldn’t start again after I left. Someone had moved some of the spark plug wires around to slow us down. He figured it out. No one that stayed with him seemed to know where they took me. So he headed back to the church building. He asked my dad who didn’t know. Lloyd decided to go to my parents’ house to either find out where I was or wait for them to bring me home.

He followed the sounds of horns and racket to se what the commotion was all about. When he saw me, he stepped out of car laughing and leaned against it. I began to climb down amid screams of “No, your rescuer has to climb up to get you.” He did and they let us drive off.

Next day, we stopped by Mom and Dad’s to say our goodbyes before we left on our honeymoon. We learned that the adults decorated with cans, streamers, and shoe polish. The kids wanted to help so they decorated with the only thing they could find, electrical tape, on the paint. The younger kids didn’t like that they were chasing us and had begged their parents to stop. They tried to help while we were visiting by washing all they could off the car. One place they didn’t know about was “Just Married” written under the hood. Every time we stopped an attendant would check our oil (Yes, we are that old.) and would have a big ole smile when he peeked around it or closed it.

We spent a few days in Arkansas before moving on to visit Lloyd’s family in Kentucky where his brother, Gene, helped him paint our car, Fred, green.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

1 thought on “Our Chivaree (Charivari)”

  1. I missed out on that fun as I was with Danie in Illinois. Was Tdy then . But I remember this wonderful story.As it was shared to us.What wonderful fun memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

