Ghost Writing

Originally posted July 18, 2007 to ShyJot Publications LLC website.

“What is ghostwriting?” is a question that has been asked several times since we published shyjot.com in April. The follow-up question is, “Why would you want to do that?”

The first question has a technical answer. Ghostwriting is writing books, articles, stories, or reports which are officially credited to another person.

The second question has a more passionate answer. You have to know a little about me to understand the reason.

You see, my husband and I had the most amazing experience of traveling the US and Canada for six years. We didn’t just see the tourist places, but the small towns of North America. During this time, we met so many people with fascinating lives that they felt were just ordinary, dull, and boring. This process fed my belief that everyone has a story to tell and the world needs to know these stories.

The second part of the puzzle as to why I feel this desire to ghost write for people has to do with another part of my past. I have worked in funeral homes where I saw a deep personal part of life stories. It is a place where I saw how each person touches so many lives. It is a place where memories are shared of the person’s personality traits, accomplishments, and relationships.

A lifetime of relationships and events could never be fully covered in one book, but it is a start. Think about your life. Think about the people in your life. Think about it objectively. Don’t you agree your life and theirs have some amazing chapters in it? Do you see how any life could be a page turning – can’t put down book? I can and am working on some currently that will be just that.

 

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

