Improvement

The first step after receiving the news that I had cirrhosis was to go the computer in an attempt to at least slow down the process. I discovered nutrition was a big issue. Here’s a little I wrote about that about six months after I was diagnosised.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Today has been long, but overall a pleasant day. We woke up early and began the day. We were out and about much of the day doing some shopping for free standing kitchen cabinets. There was nothing yet that really appealed to us, so the search will continue unless everything cooperates for Lloyd to make what we want. I have felt great all day except for getting a little sleepy sitting in the sunshine in the van on the way back. My strength is returning steadily which brings me much happiness.

I am preparing to return to OKC for an ultrasound on Monday morning. I will not get the results until mid-August. They drew blood on Tuesday when I was there and I have heard nothing of those results. I will, most likely, repeat these tests a week before I see the GI doctor. Please pray concerning the results and for my acceptance of whatever I need to do.

Since first hearing the diagnosis, I dug deeply into the sources available to do what I can to prevent further damage and at least to maintain where I was. I completely changed my diet to include things that promote a healthy liver and did away with the things that are known to be harmful. The hardest thing for me to give up probably was Irish potatoes. Shellfish was another surprise.

I seek foods free from preservatives, colors, and hormones. I seek whole grains, water, fresh fruits and vegetables, as well as hormone-free meats. This is not always easy in SW OK, but I have learned to be creative.

My body lets me know pretty soon if I eat something I should not. It also guides me in what makes it feel better and stronger. Since Feb., I have stayed very close to this and after losing 30 pounds of fluid. I lost an additional 20 pounds where I have leveled off for a few weeks now.

I have always known most of the things that are not good for the body. Just like everyone else, I ignored it until

I was diagnosed with diabetes a few years ago. I have, for the most part, kept it well within range of normal simple with diet and exercise even tho I did not lose much weight. Now, I have gone even farther in the use of food for health. The things that I have found that are good for the liver are artichokes, greens, beans, any whole grains, and there are others.

I also take some supplements that include calcium, Vit D, Zinc, Magnesium, Dandelion, and Milk Thistle. All of these except the Dandelion were suggested by my doctors. I am on very few actual medicines.

My hope for each of you is that you take better care of yourself and live a long disease-free life. If you already have health problems, please learn all you can and use that information to make you life better for you, your family and friends. Of all the ailments around, cirrhosis would have been way at the bottom of the list as one I would likely have. Many of you probably believed the only way a person has cirrhosis is through alcoholism. If you search, you will find there are many possible ways to damage and scar the liver. We just never know what we will be called to face until we are in the middle of it.

1 Corinthians 6:12-13a “All things are lawful for me, but not all things are helpful. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be enslaved by (under the power of) anything. Foods is meant for the stomach and the stomach for foods, – and God will destroy both one and the other.

God bless you in your needs.

Love,

Pamela Young

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

