Canola Fields

Canola FieldsOne of my favorite things to do is drive around stopping to take pictures as I see something that interests me. Recently we saw these fields on one such drive. The sun shining on the yellow flowers brightened the day making everything around them look brighter, fresher, and cleaner. This is a recent crop to this area bringing new light and life to a familiar scene. The sky was a little bluer; the mountains colors crisper. I couldn’t have kept from smiling if I had tried.

My husband stopped to let me out of the car in an attempt to capture that beauty in a photo. The ground was wet from a recent rain so I was trying not to kneel on it, but got as low as I could to snap the shot when I lost my balance and tumbled to the ground. Thankfully, it was packed hard enough that I wasn’t covered with mud. I was laughing so hard as my husband, Lloyd, was asking if I was ok. When I finally stopped laughing, I sat on the ground and took the pictures.

When I stood again, looking across the massive field, it made me think of the yellow brick road in The Wizard of Oz. The background image of the blog is another view of the field across the road. Photos often do not do justice to the real works of art, however, I do like the shots I captured that day. Whenever I look at them, I will remember the way they looked, the way they smelled, and the way I felt. I always remember what a sweet man I am married to for going with me on these excursions and stopping to let me take many pictures hoping to have one that captures the essence of scene.

Live peacefully.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

