My Mother

I know many people who say their mothers are the best ever. Sayings like that bother me. Here is different way of looking at it.

My grandchildren are the most lovely and talented children ever in my eyes. I know yours are in your eyes. My husband is the sweetest man to me. I hope you feel the same about yours. It shouldn’t be a comparison ever. You should feel your family is special.

With that in mind, let me tell you that my mother was the perfect mother for me. God decided my family needed me. Even tho Mom wasn’t exactly thrilled with the prospect of another mouth to feed, she always made me feel loved and wanted. I was a surprised not an accident.

Mom taught me how to live in this world. She taught me how to be a mother and a grandmother. She taught me how to grieve and keep going when your heart is broken. She taught me how to love others and forgive wrongs. She taught me many more lessons.

You can read some of the mini memoirs about Mom at Indelible Words and at Images & Allegories.

Mother’s Day is right around the corner. Remember what your mother taught you and be thankful. Oh, I hear some of you saying, “I didn’t have good examples in mother.” Learn from them. Forgive them. Be thankful for them. Without them you wouldn’t be here to make a difference in this world.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

