Mom’s Roses

Red roses from my mother’s rose bush. It is called seven sisters roses because they normally bloom in groups of seven, however this one far exceeds that as you can tell from the number of buds and flowers here.

My mom held the tradition of wearing a flower to honor your mom on Mother’s Day. You were to wear a red one if she was living and a white one if she was deceased. Mom wore a white one for as long as I can remember. Her mother died when Mom was very young. She had a stepmother but I do not remember if Mom wore red before she died.

I was blessed to have Mom here on earth for many years. She died in 2010 and last year, I could not think of wearing a white flower. This year, I could but probably won’t. During her lifetime, I would make my own bouquet from red roses she grew.

Traditions are important to me mainly because they were important to Mom. The more important thing is to honor our mothers while they are here. To take care of them as they age. To act in such a way as to not embarrass them by our behavior even if they are no longer with us in person. Remember their words and actions of love, encouragement, and acceptance.

Mom's RosesWhoever you are, mother or child, my wish is for you to have a marvelous day celebrating motherhood. In honor of that, I leave you with these flowers.

 

Live motherly.

 

Author: Pamela K. Young

I have not only lived many chapters in one life, but many lives in one body. The person I am today is far wiser than the me of young adulthood. My life is like your life with its ebb and flow. We are all connected in some way. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother, but what makes me, well, me is the way I wife, mother, and grandmother. I am a liver transplant survivor. Whatever devastation you have survived, we survived in our individual ways. I create with words and photos. I am a writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

